The Show

Beyond the Headlines (BTH) is a one-hour current affairs talk radio show aimed at providing a greater understanding and thoughtful discussion of the various policy issues in our daily news headlines. BTH aims to take listeners beyond the immediacy of our daily news.

Our show airs Mondays from 11:00 a.m. – 12:00p.m. EST on CIUT 89.5 FM in Toronto.

Beyond the Headlines – Policies

Support BTH

Beyond the Headlines (BTH) is produced by a team of volunteers. We are young policy professionals, and we aim to make in-depth analysis of current policy issues more accessible to you.

BTH operates, records, and broadcasts out of CIUT 89.5 FM at the University of Toronto. CIUT 89.5 FM is Toronto’s preeminent, listener-supported, presenter of leading-edge music and spoken-word programming since 1966. CIUT reaches listeners from Barrie to Buffalo, Kitchener to Cobourg, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

BTH would not be possible without the support of CIUT and listeners like you. Please consider supporting our partners at CIUT 89.5 FM. This way we can keep taking public policy issues out of the hallways and on to the airwaves.

BTH is also generously supported by the School of Public Policy and Governance (SPPG) at the University of Toronto. SPPG aims to form a hub for policy discourse, bringing researchers, practitioners, and community members together in order to contribute to policy debates, development, and discussion across many areas of expertise, both nationally and internationally.

The Team

Beyond the Headlines is composed of a dedicated team of volunteers from the School of Public Policy and Governance at the University of Toronto. Our volunteers have a wide array of policy interests and skill sets. Each volunteer takes on a diverse array of roles, including: Producer, Chase Producer, Technical Producer and Show Host. Feel free to email any member of the team or contact us at

 Profiles: Beyond the Headlines 2015-2016

Past Members

Beyond The Headlines 2014-2015

Jason Apostolopoulos, Scott Boutilier, Jim Elson, Stephanie Oakes, Rob Scherf, Matthew Seddon, Alexandra Steindorff